Massa Trio (bandoneon, violin, piano)
Biography, Audio/Video, PhotosProgrammes


Argentine bandoneon player and composer Omar Massa referred to by the european press as “the unofficial successor to the great Astor Piazzolla” and praised in Argentina as “one of the most brilliant bandoneonists of recent times”, debuted at the age of 6 years playing Piazzolla´s music at the tango cafes in Buenos Aires.After being nominated for the most important award in the recording industry of Argentina for his CD “Tribute to Piazzolla”, the family of Astor Piazzolla invited him to play Piazzolla’s bandoneon, 25 years after his death – Massa being the only musician allowed to do that.

After moving to Berlin in 2018 Massa met the great violinist Markus Däunert (Concertmaster & co-founder of Claudio Abbado’s Mahler Chamber Orchestra and collaborator of internationally renowned artists like Daniel Harding, Kurt Masur, Martha Argerich, Bernhard Haitink, Trevor Pinnock and Alexander Lonquich among others) playing a programme dedicated to Piazzolla’s music at “Hellensmusic Festival” in the United Kingdom, together with the Berlin Philharmonic soloists Máte Szücs and Bruno Delepelaire.

One year later at the Berlin Philharmonic, Massa performed Piazzolla’s music and the premiere of his own Concerto for Bandoneon and Chamber Orchestra together with virtuoso pianist Pavlin Nechev (founder of the piano trio “Trio Imàge” awarded with the ECHO Klassik Award 2014 and winner of major international chamber music competitions).

Being the Bandoneon, Violin and Piano the key instruments for the interpretation of Piazzolla’s music and Tango Nuevo, in 2020 Massa invited to Däunert and Nechev to create a trio, unifying his own musical tradition with their high artistic level. The result is a powerful and deeply emotional sound, which raises Tango Nuevo to higher spheres”.







bandoneon, violin, piano

Programm 1 

100 years of Piazzolla and the legacy of Tango Nuevo.
Piazzolla’s music arranged and performed in it’s original style and new works by Massa carrying the tradition of Tango Nuevo into the XXI century.


1. Piazzolla, Michelangelo 70 (3 min)
2. Piazzolla. Soledad (7 min)
3. Piazzolla, La muerte del Angel (3 min)
4. Piazzolla, Adios Nonino (8 min)
6. Piazzolla, Milonga del Angel (6 min)
7. Piazzolla, Escualo (3 min)
5. Piazzolla, Tangata (10 min)

(40 min)


1. Piazzolla, Verano Porteño (7 min)
2. Piazzolla, Oblivion ( 5 min)
3. Piazzolla. Fugata (3 min)
4. Massa, Tango Meditation n1 (5 min)
5. Massa, Scherzo from Bandoneon Chamber Concerto (3 min 30 sec)
6. Massa, Lamento (3 min)
5. Massa, Kageliana (5 min)
6. Massa, Tango Legacy (8 min)

(40 min)

Encore: Piazzolla, Libertango (4 min) /// Massa, Tango Lullaby (5 min)